History of NAACP of San Jose/Silicon Valley

2008 to present: President Rev. Jethroe Moore II is the co-founder of the Black Leadership Kitchen Cabinet (BLKC), co-founder of the Beloved Community, sustained the Youth Leadership Forum program and appointed by Gov. Brown to serve on the Police Officers Standards and Training program.

2000-2007: President Rick Callender created the Youth Leadership Forum to provide leadership training for underserved youth, which became a model program. Addressed ‘Driving While Black’ issues on both the local and national level.

1992-1996: President Tony Alexander provided leadership to the NAACP Youth Council members facing discrimination at local Denny’s Restaurant. Resolution of this case brought national changes to Denny’s customer relations.

1960: – President Dr. Leo English, was selected as 1962 San Jose Citizen of the Year. Downtown Woolsworth Store was boycotted under NAACP leadership.

1952: – The San Jose NAACP Branch was chartered, as the Santa Clara County Branch was split and the Palo Alto-Stanford Branch was also chartered. Emmett Dollarhyde was elected president of the new San Jose Branch. NAACP advocated for the hiring of the first African American policeman in San Jose: Officer Francis Tanner.

1942: – The Santa Clara County Branch was formed including members in local cities from San Jose to the northern boundaries of Santa Clara county. In 1951, President Emmitt Dollarhyde requested a permanent injunction that the City of San Jose bar all future minstrel shows in the Civic Auditorium.